3 thoughts on “Found Poem: What If?

  1. Brandon

    Wow this is a powerful poem that vividly describes Jeff Bauman’s role in the Boson Marathon bombing. I wonder why he decided to write a poem instead of a short story or a book because he could have given more detail. Also, I was surprised Jeff not understand why they were giving him money. People care about others who are hurt. He was seriously injured because of something bad others have done. He was an innocent victim who became a hero for his strength.

    Reply
  2. Ethan Kiang

    Hey Sam,

    I also agree that the phrase “What if,”(87), which occurred many times in your found poem is a question that I try to avoid asking myself. It was very devastating for Jeff Bauman and I hope he does get well soon enough to walk the 2014 marathon. Although not as dire as Jeff’s situation, when I got my math test last week, I was half a point away from a better grade. This caused me to bug myself with questions such as “What if I had studied more?”, “What if I did not make that careless mistake?”, “What if I had more time?”. I decided to stop dwelling on the past and took a retake instead. I rarely like to dwell on the past, especially negative situations, unlike Jeff Bauman and look into the future instead. Are you more like me or Jeff Bauman? Do you think that we should continuously remind us about the past or not and why?

    Reply
  3. Tommy

    Hi sam,
    I agree with the statement made, “What if,”(87), in your found poem, which by the way appeared many times. I hope that Jeff gets better to run the marathon but we cannot dwell on the past forever, the past is the past. My old teacher once said, there are no such things as regretful aspirin in the world. (My teacher was Chinese, so excuse the poor English translation). Jeff needs to move on and get “Stronger” like the book. Do you think that dwelling on the past is helpful in some situations?

    Reply

Leave a comment